Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

The Pulitzer Prize winners have been announced and The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal are among this year's winners.

Joseph Rago from The Wall Street Journal took home the Pulitzer for editorial writing for his piece on the new health care reform.

Carol Guzy, Nikki Kahn and Ricky Carioti of The Washington Post won in the breaking news photography category for their work in the aftermath of the Haiti earthquake.

Paige St. John from the Sarasota Herald-Tribune won a prize for investigative reporting for an examination of the property insurance system in Florida.

ProPublica won the national reporting award for Jesse Eisinger and Jake Bernstein's coverage of questionable practices on Wall Street. Last year, ProPublica was the first online news service to win a Pulitzer.

Amy Ellis Nutt from The Star-Ledger in Newark, New Jersey won the feature writing Pulitzer for her coverage of the mysterious sinking of a commercial fishing boat that killed six people.

Others that were honored include novelist Jennifer Egan for her book "A Visit from the Goon Squad," playwright Bruce Norris for "Clybourne Park" and author Siddhartha Mukherjee for her nonfiction book "The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer."

This year was the first time that no award was given for breaking news coverage.

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded every year by the Pulitzer Prize Board at New York City's Columbia University. Categories honored include journalism, drama, poetry and books.

Each winner receives $10,000.

Photo credit: CreativeCommons.org


KatieSchober April 20, 2011 at 8:29 AM  

I'd love to know what these winners do with their $10,000. It seems pretty wrecked to me that game show contestants can walk away with a million dollars for doing some stupid task in under 60 seconds, but our hard-working journalists get a 1% of that amount. Is it taxed? Oh, the things that we value and reinforce with money...

Zach James April 20, 2011 at 11:09 AM  

Let the underdog win the award now and then. Sure, these writers deserve an achievement for their hard work, but it would be nice to see an every down-to-earth writer get one, too.

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template On The Road by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP